That’s a Wrap (and what a wrap it is!)


As I write this post my lips are still burning from the seasoning on the Spicy Hot Chicken Tenders by Steggles in my lunch wrap.  My wife introduced me to them a few months ago along with Mission Wraps.  Man these things are good! The chicken tenders are nice and spicy without being too aggressive and the wraps are just brilliant!  I have tried several varieties of both tenders and wraps and for my money nothing beats the Steggles Spicy Hot Tenders on a Mission Rye Wrap (although the original wrap, the sourdough and the whole grain do more than simply hold their own).

Now it has never been my intention to write about my lunch in such detail but this is the meal that has helped me lose a whole heap of weight so I thought it worth the effort.   If I could eat these things morning, noon and night I would (and some days I have although I’m told I should aim for variety in my diet).

My Spicy Hot Chicken Tender Rye Wrap comes in a little under 350 calories per serve and it goes a little something like this:

  • one  Mission Rye Wrap (Try the others if you prefer but Rye is my favourite);
  • one  Steggles Spicy Hot Chicken Tender;
  • half a slice of Kraft Cracker Barrel Sharp Cheddar Sliced Cheese;
  • Iceberg Lettuce;
  • a squirt of Praise Creamy 99% Fat Free Mayonnaise (I change this up with Praise 97% Fat Free Dijonaise every now and then);

Make sure the lettuce is cold and crunchy.  I like a mix of the slightly bitter dark green leaves on the outside and the sweet tender leaves of the heart of the lettuce but as long as it is cold and crunchy any lettuce will do.

Prepare your wrap by placing a cheese slice broken in half in the middle of the wrap.  Sometimes when I make this for my eldest daughter (she prefers the traditional style Chicken Tenders and Original Mission Wrap) I put the cheese and wrap in the microwave for 20 seconds to soften both the cheese and the wrap (not that I have ever encountered a Mission wrap in need of softening).

Next place your lettuce and tomato on the melted cheese and add your squirt (20ml) of Mayonnaise.  I tend to load up on the lettuce which bulks out the wrap.  Also sandwich tomatoes are great for this because they don’t add a great deal of juice or moisture to the wrap.

Heat your Chicken Tender either as per the instructions on the packet or, as I do, for about 3 to 3 ½ minutes in the microwave on full (make sure you cover the tenders with some kitchen paper towel).  You can heat these bad boys straight from the freezer and they cook up nice and tender.  Add your chicken tender to the prepared wrap, fold and eat.  Heaven.

The nutritional information is as follows:

With the lettuce adding little in the way of measurable calories to the meal the whole wrap weighs in at a respectable 347 calories.

These wraps make a great meal.  Also the vegetarian variety (omitting the chicken and bulking up on the lettuce) are a great meal too if you don’t want the meat.  For a little variety add a few tasty salad vegetables such as sliced cucumber, sliced radish, grated carrot, alfalfa sprouts etc.  Whatever you put on it the wrap is the star and I often just eat them on their own for a snack.

Bon Apetit.  Omnomnomnomnom!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

