Killer Quotes – New Years Eve Declaration of Love in When Harry Met Sally


“I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

Harry Burns to Sally Albright – When Harry Met Sally

This declaration of love is made by Harry Burns played by Billy Crystal to Sally Albright played by Meg Ryan in the 1989 classic romantic comedy ‘When Harry Met Sally‘.  Harry has just realised that he truly deeply and madly loves the woman with whom he has been friends for years in spite of his personal philosophy that men and women can’t be friends because ‘the sex thing‘ always gets in the way.

The movie traces the friendship of Harry and Sally who meet when they share a ride to New York after they both graduate from the University of Chicago – thy don’t initially hit it off – hilariously.

But as time moves on they meet again and they become friends despite Harry’s previously mentioned view on men and women being friends.  Anyway – long story short, they manage to get the sex thing in the way and they part ways until Harry figures out that Sally is his perfect match on New Year’s Eve and spills it all delivering the Killer Quote above.

A classic movie for so many reasons including the “I’ll have what she’s having” diner scene.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

